



2021 Creative Writing Competition - Awards Ceremony - Sunday **21**st March

Category	Class	Award	Winner(s) <u>M</u> edal (<u>O</u> ut <u>s</u> tanding), <u>D</u> istinction, <u>C</u> ommended, <u>Me</u> rit
Articles	CW1 Years 5&6 CW2 Years 7 to 13	Charles Lamb Cup (Awarded to entrant with Highest CW1 or CW2 mark)	 Charlotte Furness <u>C</u> – Is Deforestation harming our Planet? =Scarlett Southwell <u>M</u> - Is Amazon Deforestation Necessary =Nidilan Srikajanan <u>M</u> – Online Schooling – The Future
Articles	CW3 Adult	Arthur Attwood Cup	 Juliet England OS – In the Shadow of the Blade Geoff Burnes D – Thinking Allowed Mary Armitage D – Amelia Warren Griffiths
Letter Writing	CW4 Years 1&2	Tony Corbin Trophy	No Entries
Letter Writing	CW5 Years 3 to 6	Marian Grey Cup	1. Scarlett Boyle OS – Dearest Mutter 2. Swathi Srikajanan D – Letter to Tweedledee 3. Darcy Emery C – Dear Mr Hunt
Letter Writing	CW6 Years 7 to 13	Basingstoke Writers' Circle Cup	No Entries
Letter Writing	CW7 Adult	Angela Hurley Cup	 Jemima Neilsen <u>D</u> – Letter to Mr. McGregor Robin Conty <u>D</u> – Dear Hannington Catherine Foster <u>C</u> – Save Our South Ham!
Poetry	CW8 Years 1&2	Charles Lamb Award Cup	1. = Elsa Barrowclough <u>M -</u> London on Fire 1. = Ollie Pink <u>M -</u> London Ablaze 3. = Freyja O'Keefe <u>M</u> - The Flickering Flames 3. = Hayley Light <u>M</u> - London in 1666
Poetry	CW9 Years 3&4	Sadler –Hall Cup	1. Isaac Oram M – No Escape! 2. Harry Shrewsbury M – Stuck For ever! 3. = Ethan Jingham Wei (Doomed) + Naia Marquez (Stuck)
Poetry	CW10 Years 5&6	Garland Cup	 Libby Wykeham OS - What is Blue? Zach Hayward D - My Box Swathi Srikajanan D - Elizabeth - Queen of Cats
Poetry	CW11 Years 7 to 13	Warton Cup	 Lucy Wright <u>D</u> – I am Girl Nidilan Srikajanan <u>C</u> - Dear Earth = John Holden <u>M</u> - City Homeless Man = Nidilan Srikajanan <u>M</u> - Revenge
Poetry	CW12 Adult	Cliddesden Shield	 Brigid Campbell <u>D</u> – Taxonomic Note on the Cathartidae Michael Davidson <u>D</u> – The Stag Kathryn Lacey <u>D</u> – Life Spills into a Hurricane
Short Stories	CW13 Years 1&2	Amy O'Connell Shield	No Entries
Short Stories	CW14 Years 3 to 6	D. Anderson David Anderson Rotary Cup	1. Aaliyah Kamali <u>OS</u> – The Promise 2. Milen O'Shaugnessy <u>D</u> – The Adventurer Who Cheated Death 3. Rosie Bearne <u>D</u> – The Promise





Category	Class	Award	Winner(s) <u>M</u> edal (Outstanding), <u>D</u> istinction, <u>C</u> ommended, <u>Me</u> rit
Short Stories	CW15 Years 7 to 13	Bryn Strudwick Cup	1. Nidilan Srikajanan <u>D</u> – It's Never What It Seems
Short Stories	CW16 Adult	Sony Broadcast Cup	 Brigid Campbell OS – The Strange Carving = Bryan Thomas D – A Stitch in Time = Lynn Clements D – A New Destiny
Script Writing	CW17/18 Children	Roy Hurley and Jane Austen Cup	No Entries
Script Writing	CW19 Adult	Micheldever Cup	 John Quinn OS – Alchemy in Three Easy Lessons Ann Stonehouse D - The Wedding Shirley Carr C – Know Where
Sonnets	CW20 Children	Bryn Strudwick Trophy	 Nidilan Srikajanan <u>D</u> – The Distant Moon Swathi Srikajanan <u>D</u> – Wonderland
Sonnets	CW21 Adult	Jim Briggs Cup	 Brigid Campbell <u>D</u> – To Her Coy Lawyer Brigid Campbell <u>D</u> – March 2020 Brigid Campbell <u>D</u> – A Sonnet for Treebeard
Flash Fiction	CW22 Years 5 13	Brecon Beacons Cup	No Entries
Flash Fiction	CW23	Destination Basingstoke Trophy	 Jemima Neilsen <u>OS</u>- Walking Companions of Yesteryear Brigid Campbell <u>D</u> - The Silver Egg Brigid Campbell <u>C</u> - Independent Witness
Poem into Poem	CW 24 Years 1 to 6	The Alethea Award	 Matteo Biermann <u>C</u> – What is Kindness? Linguatastic Group Entry (Annie, Henley, Jacob, Joel & Landon) <u>C</u> – Children Want Peace
Poem into Poem	CW 25 Years 7 to 13	The Alethea Award	No Entries
SPECIAL AWARD	BEST OVERALL CHILD ENTRY	Callum James Shield	Aaliyah Kamali – CW 14 – Short Story - 'The Promise'
SPECIAL AWARD	BEST OVERALL ADULT ENTRY	Richard Watterson Cup	Brigid Campbell – CW16 – Short Story - 'The Strange Carving '

'Non-Placed' Special Awards

Award	Children Entries	Adult Entries
Distinction	Ross Mallinson	
Commended	Sophie Baker, Olive Blair, Daniel Hearn, Scarlett Hill, Sophia Malik, Chloe Meek, Alfie Randall, Ava Spiers, Swathi Srikajanan, Florence Stark.	Mary Armitage, Stephen Bibby (2), Guy Caplin, Jan Carol, Brigid Campbell (7), Lynn Clements, Michael Davidson, Pat Doel, Catherine Foster, Dinah Kennedy, Jemima Nielsen (3), Bryn Strudwick, Sheila Worth (2)
Merit	Ella Blum, Lewis Couper, Edward Flahive, Pippa Ford, Maddie Fraser, Harrison Goodman, Sophie Grainger, Ruby Grant, Joseph Hansford, Matilda Hunter, Teagan Jenkins, Megan Light, Jackson Lloyd, Liam McKenna, Benjamin Mullen, Charlie Ray, Finley Rendell, Lucas Stratton, Marcus Williams, Toby Wilkinson.	Stephen Bibby, Stephen Bryer (2), Jan Carol, Shirley Carr, Lynn Clements (2), Michael Davidson, Ann Davis, Sam Elliot, Catherine Foster, Helen Griffiths, Robin Kay (2), Dinah Kennedy, Kathryn Lacey (2), John Quinn, Christine Rowley, Dick Sawdon-Smith

The Basingstoke Music & Arts Festival (BMAF – Registered Charity No. 1037049) is affiliated to the British and International Federation of Festivals for Music, Dance and Speech. Festival events therefore fully comply with the Federation's latest Safeguarding and Child Protection Policy a copy of which, is available on request.